Free Shipping on US orders over $75

Be the Change

Isalis stands in solidarity with Black Lives Matter against racism and police brutality. We will be composing an ongoing list of resources compiled directly from our staff on what we are doing, reading, watching, and listening to.  Let’s all do more to “Be the Change”.

To Read:

  • Sister Outsider - Book by Audre Lorde
  • Homegoing - Novel by Yaa Gyasi
  • Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers her Super Power - by Dr. Brittney Cooper
  • White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo
  • Just Mercy - book by @Bryan.stevenson805
  • Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women that A Movement Forgot- book by Mikki Kendall

To Watch/Listen to:

@blackbeltvoices - IG page & Website

@Ivirlei - Business & Mindset Mentor

Fruitvale station - movie by Ryan Coogler

Just Mercy - (based on the book) turned feature film

The Limits of Empathy @Code Switch - Podcast by NPR

1619 - Podcast by the New York Times

The 13th - Documentary on Netflix

Dear White People on Netflix 

Explained: Racial Wealth Gap on Netflix


To Support:

  • Bay Area Black-Owned Restaurants:

Sunset Cantina

Mission Bowling Club

Cafe International 

Elve’s BBQ and Soul Food

Burlap Coffee

Peaches Patties

Cafe Ethiopia

Bella Trattoria

Anthony’s Cookies

 

  • Designers/Businesses we are looking into:

@goldengirlyshop: cute & cozy loungewear 

@oseiduro: women’s hand-dyed clothing

@jentl.co: vegan, organic, & cruelty-free skincare

@communitymakes: bay area creators raising money for black lives matter movement

@kncbeauty: cruelty-free health/beauty/skincare

@omathelabel: NYC based clothing/jewelry 

@kurationcollective: black woman-owned vintage 

@golde: black women-owned health/beauty brand


To Donate: 

@eji_org

@theconciouskid

@colorofchange

@blackvisionscollective

@reclaimtheblock

@aclu_nationwide

@blklivesmatter 

@blacktranstravelfund

@unicornriot

@theokraproject 

@blackgirlscode 

@forthegworls 


Petitions To Sign: 

Justice for Breonna Taylor: https://www.change.org/p/andy-beshear-justice-for-breonna-taylor

Justice for Ahmaud Arbery: https://www.change.org/p/district-attorney-tom-durden-justice-for-ahmaud-arbery-i-run-with-maud

Justice for George Floyd: https://www.change.org/p/mayor-jacob-frey-justice-for-george-floyd

Re-open Sandra Bland's Case: https://www.change.org/p/texas-governor-i-want-sandra-bland-s-case-reopened

Justice for Emerald Black: https://www.change.org/p/san-leandro-police-deartment-justice-for-emerald-black?recruiter=1092755897&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=psf_combo_share_initial&utm_term=psf_combo_share_initial&recruited_by_id=17f044d0-9cb4-11ea-aa62-77724154c4f4

Justice for Philando Castile: https://www.change.org/p/city-of-state-anthony-to-get-justice-for-philando-castile

Hands up Act: https://www.change.org/p/us-senate-hands-up-act

Justice for Oluwatoyin Salau: https://www.change.org/p/tallahassee-police-department-justice-for-toyin

Justice for Dominique Fells: https://www.change.org/p/philadelphia-police-department-justice-for-dominique-fells

Justice for Tete Gulley: https://www.change.org/p/portland-police-bureau-justice-for-tete

Justice for Elijah Mcclain: https://www.change.org/p/adams-county-district-attorney-justice-for-elijah-mcclain-88600e12-fb72-41e4-9137-030a1dcaf695


One way to support BLM if you don’t have money:

    • Youtube search this video, turn off ad-blocker on youtube and watch on a loop, the ad money will donate for you.: “how to financially help BLM with no money/leaving your house (invest in the future for free”. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKRGnoz_JnI

For more resources CLICK HERE <3 https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/

Also check out our Be the Change "highlight" on our IG for more updates.